Anti-corruption Defender Award

Honorary Award

Waziri Adio, the Executive Secretary of the Nigeria Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (NEITI) receiving the Anti-Corruption Defender Award from Ayo Obe, lawyer and human rights activist during the 13th Wole Soyinka Award for Investigative Reporting at NECA House, Alausa in Lagos.

2018 – Mr Waziri Adio

For ages, issues of transparency have dogged Nigeria’s extractive industry. The Nigeria Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (NEITI) was set up in 2004 to ensure due process, transparency and accountability in payments by the companies and revenue receipts by the federal government. Waziri Onibiyo Adebowale Adio first joined NEITI in 2007. He was appointed the Executive …

2018 – Mr Waziri Adio Read More »

2016 – The Public and Private Development Centre (PPDC)

The Public and Private Development Centre, PPDC, is a rare and effective definition of watchdog activism in the broad and expansive Nigerian civic space. Its challenging location in the governance framework of our country’s political and policy setting is that exerting midriff of civic oversight.  From that spot, PPDC nudges the state to actualise its …

2016 – The Public and Private Development Centre (PPDC) Read More »

2015 – Professor Attahiru Jega

Professor Attahiru Jega was a well-deserving recipient of the coveted 2015 Anticorruption Defender Award. He was celebrated for his firm stands in the face of an evidently intimidating pressure, to manage the electoral process and provide exemplary leadership that gave us the honour of a credible, free and fair 2015 elections, and signalled the pathway …

2015 – Professor Attahiru Jega Read More »

2014 – Socio-Economic Rights and Accountability Project (SERAP)

The Socio-Economic Rights and Accountability Project (SERAP) was awarded the 2014 Anti-corruption Defender Award of the 9th Wole Soyinka Award for Investigative Reporting for a stern stance for human rights that transverses Nigeria and indeed Africa, and for making substantive, the full implications of human rights as a tool of remaking communities, and for uplifting …

2014 – Socio-Economic Rights and Accountability Project (SERAP) Read More »

Dr. Chidi Odinkalu

2013 – Dr. Chidi Odinkalu

Dr. Chidi Odinkalu was recipient of the 2013 Anti-corruption Defender Award and was honoured for his integrity, hardwork, unconcealed crusade for the enthronement of human rights – even at the risk of his career; and his dogged stance against corruption. Academic, author, human rights activist and currently Chairman of the National Human Rights Commission, Dr. …

2013 – Dr. Chidi Odinkalu Read More »

Mallam Balarabe Musa

2012 – Mallam Balarabe Musa

Mallam Balarabe Musa was chosen for the 2012 Award for his consistent record over the years of standing up against corruption including as a former governor of Kaduna State, and for his leadership, courage and shining example to future generations of politicians and leaders; also in recognition of his incorruptibility, unquestionable integrity, and longstanding uncompromising …

2012 – Mallam Balarabe Musa Read More »

Chief Gani Fawehinmi (SAN) (1938-2009)

2010 – Chief Gani Fawehinmi (SAN) (1938-2009)

Ganiyu Oyesola Fawehinmi, popularly known as ‘GANI’ was born on 22 April, 1938. The Gani Fawehinmi Law Chamber (founded by him) was a breeding ground for brilliant legal practitioners. Through Gani’s penchant for hard work, his Chambers grew to become one of the biggest in Nigeria, and indeed in the British Commonwealth. By 2009, the …

2010 – Chief Gani Fawehinmi (SAN) (1938-2009) Read More »

Stay in touch

Subscribe now to get updates on our events and activities