Lifetime Award for Journalstic Excellence

Honorary Award

John Momoh, Chairman and CEO of Channels Media Group

2018 – Mr John Momoh

John Olatchy Momoh is a broadcast journalist and the Chairman of Channels Media Group (CMG), owners of 24-hour news television station, Channels Television. John Momoh is also the Chairman of the Nigeria’s Broadcasting Organisation of Nigeria (BON), President of the University of Lagos Alumni Association worldwide and President of the Chevening Alumni Association of Nigeria …

2018 – Mr John Momoh Read More »

Bimbo Oloyede

2015 – Mrs Bimbo Oloyede

Bimbo Oloyede received the Life Time Award for Journalistic Excellence in recognition of her substantive contribution to the development of broadcasting, narrating the convoluted history of our country with care, passion, and brilliance. She holds a beautiful place in the Nigerian broadcast history as the first woman to cast the Network News on the National …

2015 – Mrs Bimbo Oloyede Read More »

2014 – Mr Ademola Osinubi

Managing Director of one of the leading national newspapers in Nigeria – The Punch, Mr. Ademola Osinubi was honoured with the 2014 Wole Soyinka Lifetime Award for Journalistic Excellence for his astute dexterity, calm temperament, outstanding institutional knowledge, and consistent commitment to raising media standard in Nigeria. His great commitment to ethics and professionalism of …

2014 – Mr Ademola Osinubi Read More »

Amma Ogan

2013 – Ms Amma Ogan

Honoured with the 2013 Lifetime Award for Media Excellence was the veteran Amma Ogan, alias, “Correct Yellow” as the vendors of Kakawa street nicknamed her, when she started her journalistic career at the Daily Times in 1978, working variously as Senate Correspondent, Staff Writer, Senior Correspondent, and Editorial Board Member Daily Times until 1982. In …

2013 – Ms Amma Ogan Read More »

Prof Ropo Sekoni presenting Mr Benson Idonije the lifetime award for journalistic excellence

2012 – Mr Benson Idonije

Leading broadcast historian and music critic, Benson Idonije, received the life-time award for media excellence in 2012. In choosing Benson Idonije for the award, the committee paid homage to his life’s work in media history, stressing his special imprint in bringing the meaning of events, personages, and institutions in our broadcast corridor to clarity and …

2012 – Mr Benson Idonije Read More »

2009 – Dr. Christopher Kolade

Of all his polyvalent talents, three key markers define the significant outlines of Dr Christopher Kolade’s life, career, and dreams. These markers are communication, diplomacy and education. Many Nigerians probably know only the diplomacy and educational phases in the life of Dr Kolade but he was the significant voice that helped propel the Radio Nigeria …

2009 – Dr. Christopher Kolade Read More »

2007 – Alhaji Babatunde Jose

‘Mr. Nigerian Journalism’, Alhaji Ismail Babatunde Jose (OFR) lived a life marked by feats in journalism. His passion for journalism shone through his hard work and eventual success at The Daily Times Group, his contributions as a Chairman of the Nigerian Television Authority and the influence he commanded in the practice of journalism in Nigeria. …

2007 – Alhaji Babatunde Jose Read More »

Stay in touch

Subscribe now to get updates on our events and activities